Recent Dorkiness

Kirby While You Wait

So the nerd farm’s getting itself settled under quarantine conditions right now, but we’ll be back in a day or two with this week’s post. In the meantime, though… Enjoy a few of Jack Kirby’s lesser-seen works…

 

 

 

 

Proposal sketch for a Saturday morning kids’ cartoon that I’m sure wouldn’t have been nightmare fuel at ALL…

 

 

 

 

A montage piece that many believe to be an early design for the New Gods character Metron.

 

Alright, that’s all for now. We’ll be back soon.

 

 

 

About Mark Brett (583 Articles)
Shaved Yeti. Alien. Writer of stuff. Read my fiction at http://reportsfromthefieldblog.wordpress.com/. Read my thoughts on comic books and other dork culture ephemera at https://dorkforty.wordpress.com/.

3 Comments on Kirby While You Wait

  1. Dale Bagwell // March 24, 2020 at 11:49 pm // Reply

    Honestly, aren’t ALL these works of his presented here not nightmare fuel? Especially Hidden Harry, That’s creepy AF!
    Hope you and yours are safe and not sick.

    Liked by 1 person

    • So far, so good! Thanks for asking, Dale. Hope you can say the same.

      As for the nightmare fuel possibilities of this particular gallery… Yeah, you do kind of have a point. I didn’t think of them that way til you said it, but I’m a huge weirdo, so my threshold for such things is higher than most people’s…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dale Bagwell // March 27, 2020 at 1:20 pm //

        Haha, nothing wrong with that. I’m the same way man, but even I find that particular drawing, especially the posing and tilting of the head creepy AF! I’m doing good so far. So are my family. We’re all just trying to stick to the recommended guidelines and only go out when needed and constantly wipe and wash our hands.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment