Recent Dorkiness

Frog Variations

Sorry about the lack of updates this week. Had some family business to take care of. By way of apology, though, here’s a spiffy funnybook cover featuring the Black Panther engulfed in the psychedelic power of King Solomon’s Frogs!

click to embiggen

click to embiggen

Not sure of the artist; I saw it attributed to Natacha Bustos, but it doesn’t look like her style to me. But I dig any reference to Jack Kirby’s 1970s Black Panther run (where the Frogs first appeared), so it’s a double treat for me.

You may be wondering, though, what comic this cover’s going to run on. Well, if I’m reading this Bleeding Cool article right, it’s a “Black Panther 50th Anniversary Variant” for the first issue of Inhumans vs X-Men. Which, you know, whatever. Nothing new there (though I do kind of wish it was on a comic I had even the slightest interest in reading). But that Bleeding Cool piece points out a disturbing trend in Marvel’s publishing plans for December: they’re going to try to recapture some market share from DC’s Rebirth campaign by flooding the shelves with variants. Which, again, is nothing new (and is, in point of fact, an element in Rebirth’s success). But it still makes me sad, because I think that, on the whole, Marvel’s putting out far better comics than DC these days. I mean, sure. Both companies have their fair share of duds. But Marvel’s highs just seem a lot higher to me, so it’s a shame they’re resorting to gimmicks instead of finding a better way to promote the good stuff.

But that’s a topic for another day. A day when I’m in the mood to discuss it, and not so damn tired. For now, just enjoy that pretty picture, and we’ll be back first of the week with the usual review and opinion…

 

About Mark Brett (404 Articles)
Shaved Yeti. Alien. Writer of stuff. Read my fiction at http://reportsfromthefieldblog.wordpress.com/. Read my thoughts on comic books and other dork culture ephemera at https://dorkforty.wordpress.com/.

Leave a Reply

