Recent Dorkiness

Countdown to Halloween, Day 26: Up Jumped the Devil

I wouldn’t call Nick Cave’s music “Halloweenie.” I mean, a lot of it surely is appropriate for the Halloween season. But his stuff’s got teeth in it. His best songs bite back. And that, really, prevents me from using the diminutive in relation to them. I mean, I can only imagine what his reaction might be…

Nick Cave

Yeah. Yeah, probably something like that. And that’s not a guy I really wanna piss off. So understand, I’m including his music among Halloween’s best because of those teeth. Because, when he wants to, he can conjure up a real sense of danger. Even (especially?) when he’s singing about the devil…

About Mark Brett (408 Articles)
Shaved Yeti. Alien. Writer of stuff. Read my fiction at http://reportsfromthefieldblog.wordpress.com/. Read my thoughts on comic books and other dork culture ephemera at https://dorkforty.wordpress.com/.

Leave a Reply

