Recent Dorkiness

Countdown to Halloween, Day 16: Blood on the Bluegrass

Earlier this month, I said that the Violent Femmes’ “Country Death Song” is my favorite gothic country tune. But you know… I might have been selling The Legendary Shack Shakers a little short. Hailing from Paduca, Kentucky, the Shack Shakers (alternately THE, TH’, and sometimes THOSE Legendary Shack Shakers) play a swampy mix of blues, rockabilly, country, carnival polka, and whatever else suits their fancy, often with a sort of breakneck abandon. If you wanna hear something that sounds like a Satanic Tent Revival, these guys are your go-to act.

For full-on Halloweenie goodness, you can’t go wrong with their albums Pandelirium and Believe.

Legendary Shack Shakers Believe

But tonight, I thought I’d hit you with something from their first official album Cockadoodledon’t, a tune about a cursed patch of land and an unstable young man who calls up its demons… even if they’re only inside his head. So here’s “Blood on the Bluegrass.”

Aaaaannnddd… What the hell. Since I almost used another Shack Shakers tune for last night’ accompaniment to that Goon comic I reviewed, I might as well give you that one, too. So here’s a song about the evilest carnival that ever was, and the implements of their supernatural workings: “Bible, Candle and Skull.”

(An aside: in addition to maybe being, now that I’m listening to it again, a far better match for that Goon comic than the song I actually chose, “Bible, Candle and Skull” has also served as personal inspiration. Not in my day-to-day life, mind you. But for anyone who’s been reading our sister site, Reports From the Field, and wondered about the character of Jackson Curry… Yeah. He’s taken pretty much completely from this song. What can I say? The line “Even a two-headed fetus ought to have a good home” just spoke to me, I guess.)

(Another aside: if you HAVE been reading Reports From the Field… I’m sorry. I know I haven’t updated it since the summer. Long story. Busy life. I am working on it, I promise. And I will get back to it. I’m just trying to get a few chapters done before I start posting again. Get a head start in hopes of avoiding further delays between chapters. We’re real close to the finish line on that one, and it’s gonna get a little complicated…)

 

About Mark Brett (414 Articles)
Shaved Yeti. Alien. Writer of stuff. Read my fiction at http://reportsfromthefieldblog.wordpress.com/. Read my thoughts on comic books and other dork culture ephemera at https://dorkforty.wordpress.com/.

Leave a Reply

