Recent Dorkiness

Funnybooks in Brief

So it’s one of those weeks.

Bit of a time crunch, and my brain’s been insisting I write fiction instead of non. So this is gonna be quick. Ultra-mega-seriously-to-the-point quick. Which is a shame, because I read some very nice funnybooks this week.

Like the haunting Russian Olive to Red King, the new OGN from Kathryn & Stuart Immonen. It came out a couple of weeks ago, but I just got around to reading it this past weekend, and man. MAN. This is the Immonens’ best work, a meditation on love and isolation. Understated, sad, and beautiful.

Also, there was the second issue of Alan Moore’s Providence. It’s not as good as the first, but it makes up for that with sheer weirdness.

Burrows Providence 2

Warren Ellis and Declan Shalvey’s Injection came around for its third issue, which may be my favorite to date. Ellis has been playing it cagey with what this book’s actually about, but this issue seems to establish that we may be dealing with some sort of quantum consciousness that’s playing at being Old English faerie folk. Or… Maybe the faerie folk were there all along, and we’re only just now coming to understand what they really are. Or… Hmm. Maybe it’s not so clear, after all. It is absolutely gorgeous, though:

click to embiggen

click to embiggen

(If you want to read more about it, this really quite excellent piece at Pop Matters is far better than anything I might have said: http://www.popmatters.com/feature/195323-whats-at-stake-with-warren-elliss-injection/)

We also got the fourth and final issue of Eric Powell and Tim Weisch’s Big Man Plans, which… Holy crap. HOLY crap. I’m not sure where I was expecting this book to go, but it wasn’t here. This is some bleak stuff. The over-the-top ultra-violence of the previous issues is put in context as we discover Big Man’s reasons for seeking revenge, and… Jesus. It ain’t funny no more. The violence in this issue goes so far that I don’t even feel like I should show it to you. Not that I think it’s “wrong” or anything judgmental like that. I read the book, and enjoyed it in that soul-searing way you enjoy horrifically ugly fiction of this type. But I ain’t gonna show it to you. You’re gonna have to seek this bastard of a book out for yourself. Still. Here’s the cover, just to help you along with that:

Powell Big Man Plans 4

Aaaaannnddd… I think that’s all we’ve got time for this week. Short, sweet, and to the freaking point. Hopefully, I’ll be feeling a bit more verbose next time.

About Mark Brett (408 Articles)
Shaved Yeti. Alien. Writer of stuff. Read my fiction at http://reportsfromthefieldblog.wordpress.com/. Read my thoughts on comic books and other dork culture ephemera at https://dorkforty.wordpress.com/.

Leave a Reply

